Sunday, August 13, 2000
In a thrilling, hard-fought final game the TWINS successfully defended their title and once again won the Scott Helenius Memorial Trophy as the 2000 Bowen Island Fastpitch League Tournament Champions. The TWINS narrowly edged the FIREMEN in an exciting final. Lead by tournament MVP, Chris Agassiz, and the pitching of Mike Carachelo (this year's Most Improved Player), the FIREMEN played some inspired ball all weekend. The TWINS once again relied on timely bunting and a clutch hit by Ryan Thomas to seal the victory in the bottom of the last inning. Lead by perennial All-Star Scott MacKenzie (Best Pitcher ERA) and the hitting of Nathan Tatroff, the TWINS also captured the President's Trophy for best regular season record. Congratulations TWINS!

The League Awards were presented after the Final. Toby Puga from the TIGERS walked away with 3 trophies - League MVP, Batting Champion and Home Run King (tied with Gord Janzen of the CRUISERS). Toby set a new hitting record this year with a batting average of .732! Congratulations Toby!
Other highlights included the enthusiastic acceptance from Roger Grant of the CRUISERS for Most Sportsmanlike Player and the father-son team of Ralph and Joel Fleming from the DIGGERS winning Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year respectively.

Back Row (left to right): Zack Riley, Randy Arnott, Chris Hurlburt, Ryan Thomas, Matt Taylor, Scott MacKenzie, Tom Roocroft, Derek White
Front Row (left to right): Dave Moore, Shawn Davies, Julian Stevenson, Dan Moats, George Helenius (presenter), Nathan Tatroff, Will Ander

Back   Top